Virat Kohli the Indian champion won ICC Cricketer of the Year

Indian captain Virat Kohli had something to cheer about after the second Test debacle against South Africa when he was named the ICC Cricketer of the Year at the ICC Awards on Thursday. Kohli was also named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year and captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams.

In the qualification period from September 21, 2016 to the end of 2017, Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including eight centuries and 1,818 ODI runs including seven centuries at 82.63.

Kohli went past former Australian captain Ricky Ponting to second place in the all-time ODI centurion list with his 31st hundred that came against New Zealand in Mumbai in October last year. During the course of his 32nd ODI century, again against New Zealand in Kanpur, Kohli became the fastest batsman to 9,000 ODI runs and the most successful captain in an ODI year, surpassing Ponting.

Kohli regained the No 1 spot on the ICC rankings for ODI batsmen with 889 rating points, the best ever by an Indian cricketer.

In the nominations for ODIs, Kohli was placed nominated alongside Pakistan paceman Hasan Ali, Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan and his own teammate Rohit Sharma.
Australian captain Steve Smith claimed the Test Player of the Year honour after scoring 1875 runs in 16 matches at an average of 78.12, with eight hundreds and five 50s.

Yuzvendra Chahal’s incredible haul of 6/25 against England in Bengaluru last year, was named as Twenty20 International performance of the year.
Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan was adjudged ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year after taking 60 wickets in 2017 — a record for an associate player in a calendar year — and 43 in ODIs, also a record.

About Ravish Mattoo

A career spanning 5 years in news and sports media across some of the most prestigious organizations in print, electronic and digital including Amar Ujala, Hindustan, Sahara Samay and Network 18 among others.

View all posts by Ravish Mattoo →