2026 FIFA World Cup Final to Be Hosted in New York City, Opener Set for Mexico: Here’s What You Need to Know

In an electrifying announcement made on Saturday, it was disclosed that New York City’s MetLife Stadium has clinched the prestigious spot to host the final game of the 2026 FIFA World Cup, edging out Dallas. This momentous event, characterized by an expanded 48-team format, will be a collaborative effort among the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The tournament will commence with the opening match at Mexico City’s esteemed Azteca Stadium on June 11, as reported by AFP.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino expressed his fervor, affirming, “The most inclusive and impactful FIFA World Cup ever is now a reality, materializing in the form of 104 matches across 16 state-of-the-art stadiums spanning Canada, Mexico, and the USA.” He added, “From the inaugural game at the iconic Estadio Azteca to the grand finale in New York-New Jersey, players and fans have been at the heart of our meticulous planning for this transformative tournament, set to break records and leave an enduring legacy.”

The semi-finals are slated for Atlanta and Dallas, while Miami will host the third-place match. According to AFP reports, quarter-final clashes are scheduled for Los Angeles, Kansas City, Miami, and Boston.

Sixteen cities spread across the three host countries will serve as venues, with the majority located in the USA. Notably, this isn’t the United States’ first time hosting the World Cup; it previously hosted the tournament in 1994, culminating in the final held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. New York, which hosted matches during the 1994 tournament at the now-demolished Giants Stadium, is preparing to host the 2026 finals at MetLife Stadium, inaugurated in 2010.

The announcements were made during a live television broadcast featuring Infantino, comedian Kevin Hart, rapper Drake, and celebrity Kim Kardashian.

Key Facts About FIFA World Cup 2026:

The Azteca Stadium will make history as the first venue to host matches for three different World Cup tournaments, following its roles in the 1970 and 1986 events.

A round-of-16 match will coincide with Independence Day in Philadelphia, where the US Declaration of Independence was signed.

The United States will commence group stage competition at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles on June 12 and will also play in Seattle.

Toronto will host the first game for the Canadian team, while Vancouver is another Canadian venue.

With the expansion to 48 teams, there will be 24 additional matches, totaling 104 games across the 16 venues.

The tournament will feature 12 groups of four teams each, with the top two advancing along with the eight best third-placed teams, leading to a straight knockout format.

FIFA emphasized the design of the match schedule to limit travel for the teams, with the full draw expected to be held in late 2025.

The 16 host cities for the tournament include Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Guadalajara, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Miami, Monterrey, New York-New Jersey, Philadelphia, San Francisco Bay Area, Seattle, Toronto, and Vancouver.

About Seema Vishwas

An anchor with CNBC TV18 for almost 4 years. Also co-anchors prime-time market shows like Power Breakfast, Traders only, Markets Mid-day and NSE Closing Bell.

View all posts by Seema Vishwas →